5 Star Review: Snakes Among Sweet Flowers by Jason Huffman-Black @J_HuffmanBlack #MM

TITLE:  Snakes Among Sweet FlowersSnakes Among Sweet Flowers

AUTHOR:  Jason Huffman-Black

PUBLISHER:  Dreamspinner Press

LENGTH:  244 Pages

BLURB:

Two-time ex-con Camden Sanders has decided that Hog Mountain—an isolated community on the outskirts of Atlanta, Georgia—is the perfect place to continue running small scams without the threat of more prison time. But there are a few problems with this plan. One is the neighborly citizens of Hog Mountain thwarting his dirty dealings at every turn with their kindness. Another is Jackson Rhodes, a closeted Hog Mountain police officer who can see right through Cam’s good ol’ boy act and plans to catch him red-handed despite the attraction they both can feel. But the biggest problem of all is that Cam’s past is threatening to catch up with him, and it could mean trouble for more than just himself.

REVIEW:

Fantastic book! This is the first thing I’ve read from Jason Huffman-Black and I have to say that the book completely sucked me in. The writing style was so fluid and easy to read that on more than one occasion, I forgot I was reading an author new to me and instead imagined I was reading something from one of my favorite authors.

The story starts off with a not so flattering glimpse of Camden. He’s an ex-con and though he’s trying to start over and make a new life for himself, he hasn’t completely left behind his thieving and dishonest ways. In addition to pissing me off several times, he has a one night stand that was so unappealing that it made me dislike him even more. However, the closer he gets with the golden boy police officer, Jackson, the more he seems to redeem himself. By the end, I was rooting for both of them and feeling so bad for Camden due to the troubles his past life was bringing him and those he cared about.

There were so many things I loved about this book, but what drew me in more than anything were the emotional aspects. Though this was an action/ suspense book, it was also quite moving. In my opinion, there’s nothing better than a novel that can bring you to tears, and this definitely had me chocked up. Additionally, the erotic scenes were pretty hot. I highly recommend this book to anyone who loves m/m romance that’s heavy on plot and m/m action/suspense. I will definitely be reading more from this author!

DARK ARTS ELEMENTS:

 M/M Erotic Romance, Murder (off page), Non-con (off page)

BUYING LINKS: 

Amazon | Dreamspinner Press

 

One thought on “5 Star Review: Snakes Among Sweet Flowers by Jason Huffman-Black @J_HuffmanBlack #MM

Leave a Reply

